Related Links

Click on the links below to navigate to areas of interest.

South Carolina Resources

Avery Research Center for African American History & Culture     www.cofc.edu/~averyrsc
Birchwood Center for Arts and Folklife     www.birchwoodcenter.org/
Catawba Cultural Preservation Project     /sites.google.com/site/catawbaculturalpreservation/home
Center for Digital Humanities (USC)     cdh.sc.edu/
Eastern Cherokee, Southern Iroquois & United Tribes of SC, Inc     www.cherokeeofsouthcarolina.com/
Gullah/Geechee Sea Island Coalition     gullahgeechee.net/
Lexington County Museum     www.teachingushistory.org/qt-lex/
Oral History Program at the South Caroliniana Library/USC     www.sc.edu/library/socar/oralhist/index.html
Penn Center     www.penncenter.com
Pickens County Cultural Commission     www.co.pickens.sc.us/culturalcommission
South Carolina Arts Alliance     www.scartsalliance.net/
South Carolina Arts Commission     www.southcarolinaarts.com/
South Carolina Center for Oral Narration     www.uscsumter.edu/index.php/center-for-oral-narration.html
South Carolina Department of Archives and History     scdah.sc.gov/Pages/default.aspx
South Carolina Educational Television     www.scetv.org
South Carolina National Heritage Corridor     www.sc-heritagecorridor.org/
South Carolina State Museum     www.museum.state.sc.us/
Southern Pottery Workcenter & Gallery     southern-pottery.com
Tales of the Tidelands     www.cas.sc.edu/talesofthetidelands/
The Humanities Council SC     www.schumanities.org/

National Organizations

American Anthropological Association     www.aaanet.org/
American Association for State and Local History     www.aaslh.org/
American Farmland Trust     www.farmland.org/default.asp
American Folk     www.americanfolk.com/
American Folklife Center in the Library of Congress     www.loc.gov/folklife
American Folklore Society     www.afsnet.org
Association for Living History, Farm and Agricultural Museums     www.alhfam.org
Local Learning: The National Network for Folk Arts in Education     www.locallearningnetwork.org
National Council for the Traditional Arts     www.ncta.net
National Endowment for the Arts     www.arts.endow.gov
National Endowment for the Humanities     www.neh.gov
Oral History Association     www.oralhistory.org/
Slow Food USA     www.slowfoodusa.org/
Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage     www.si.edu/folklife
Society for Ethnomusicology     www.ethnomusicology.org/
The Quilt Index     www.quiltindex.org/index.php
Vernacular Architecture Forum     www.vernaculararchitectureforum.org

Regional Organizations

Alabama Folklife Association     www.alabamafolklife.org
Anchorage Food Mosaic (Alaska)     anchoragefoodmosaic.com/
Appalshop,Inc.     www.appalshop.org
Catch the Spirit of Appalachia     www.spiritofappalachia.org/
Center for Southern Folklore     www.southernfolklore.com
Center for Traditional Music and Dance     www.ctmd.org/
City Lore     www.citylore.org
CITYFOLK (Ohio)     www.cityfolk.org
Florida Folklife Program     www.flheritage.com/preservation/folklife/
Greek-American Folklore Society (NY)     www.emoreiro.com/GAFS/
Humboldt Folklife Society     www.humboldtfolklife.org/
John C. Campbell Folk School     www.folkschool.com
Kentucky Folklife Program     history.ky.gov/index.php
Long Island Traditions (NY)     www.longislandtraditions.org/index.html
Louisiana Folklife Program     www.louisianafolklife.org/main_program_intro.html
Maine Folklife Center     www.umaine.edu/folklife
Missouri Folk Arts Program     mofolkarts.missouri.edu/
Missouri Folklore Society     missourifolkloresociety.truman.edu/
Missouri Valley Folklife Society     www.folkjam.org/l/missouri-valley-folklife-society
Music Maker Relief Foundation     www.musicmaker.org/
Nebraska Folklife Network     www.nefolklife.org
New Hampshire Folklife     www.nh.gov/folklife/
New York Folklore Society     www.nyfolklore.org
North Carolina Folklife Institute     www.ncfolk.org/
North Carolina Folklore Society     www.ecu.edu/ncfolk
Northwest Folklife     www.nwfolklife.org
Old-Time Herald     www.oldtimeherald.org/
Oregon Folklife Network     ofn.uoregon.edu/
Ozark Folk Center     www.ozarkfolkcenter.com
Philadelphia Folklore Project     www.folkloreproject.org
Piedmont Council of Traditional Music     www.pinecone.org
Renfro Valley     www.renfrovalley.com/
Seattle Folklore Society     www.seafolklore.org/
South Arts     www.southarts.org
Southeastern Bluegrass Association     www.sebabluegrass.org
Southern Foodways Alliance     www.southernfoodways.com
Tennessee Folklore Society     tennesseefolklore.org/
Tennessee Sampler Survey     www.tennesseesamplers.com/
Texas Folklife Resources     www.texasfolklife.org
Traditional Arts Indiana     www.traditionalartsindiana.com/
Vermont Folklife Center     www.vermontfolklifecenter.org
Virginia Folklife Program     www.virginiafolklife.org
West Virginia Division of Culture and History (Goldenseal)     www.wvculture.org
Western Folklife Center     www.westernfolklife.org/site
Woodward Studio     www.thewoodwardstudio.com/
Yakima Valley Folklife Association     yakimavalleymuseum.org/

Museums & Archives

Alaska's Digital Archive     vilda.alaska.edu/
Archives of Traditional Music at Indiana University     www.indiana.edu/~libarchm
Association for Cultural Equity/Alan Lomax Database     www.culturalequity.org/
Blue Ridge Institute & Museum     www.blueridgeinstitute.org/
Center for Cultural and Eco-Tourism (University of Louisiana at Lafayette)     ccet.louisiana.edu/
Center for Southern African American Music     www.music.sc.edu/csam/index.html
Central California Folklore Archives     www.csufresno.edu/folklore/archives/
Crandall Public Library, Center for Folklife     www.crandalllibrary.org/
Culinary Arts Museum, Johnson and Wales University     www.culinary.org/
Delta Blues Museum (MS)     www.deltabluesmuseum.org
Fife Folklore Archives, Utah State University     library.usu.edu/Folklo/
Goschenhoppen Folklife Museum     www.goschenhoppen.org/
Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village     www.hfmgv.org
Kevin Barry Perdue Archive of Traditional Culture, UVA     faculty.virginia.edu/tradcult/
Max Hunter Folk Song Collection     maxhunter.missouristate.edu/
Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature, Harvard University     www.chs.harvard.edu/mpc/
Niagara Frontier Folklore Archives     buffalolore.buffalonet.org/archives/FolkloreArchives.htm
Northern Virginia Folklife Archive     www.gmu.edu/folklore/nvfa/
Old Sturbridge Village     www.osv.org/
Prelinger Archives     www.archive.org/details/prelinger
Shaker Museum at South Union     www.shakermuseum.com/
Skansen     www.skansen.se/en/
South Street Seaport Museum     www.seany.org/
Southern Folklife Collection, University of North Carolina     www.lib.unc.edu/wilson/sfc/
West Virginia Folklife Center     www.fairmontstate.edu/folklife/

Online Resources

American Folklore     www.americanfolklore.net/index.html
American Roots Music     www.pbs.org/americanrootsmusic/index.html
Blue Ridge National Heritage Area - Traditional Artist Directory     www.blueridgeheritage.com/
Chow Hound     www.chowhound.com/
Crossroads of the Heart (MS)     www.arts.state.ms.us/crossroads/main.html
Encyclopedia Mythica     www.pantheon.org/
Field Recorders' Collective     www.fieldrecorder.com
Florida Memory Project     www.floridamemory.com/
Folkipedia     www.folkipedia.org
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts     www.pitt.edu/~dash/folktexts.html
Folkstreams     www.folkstreams.net/
Folkvine: Florida's Art & Artists     www.folkvine.org/
Folkwriting     www.valdosta.edu/folkwriting/
Greek Mythology     www.greekmythology.com/
Grimm Brothers' Home Page     www.pitt.edu/~dash/grimm.html
GritLit     www.gritlit.com
Gullah.tv     gullah.tv/
HEARTH: Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History     hearth.library.cornell.edu/
Mississippi Folklife and Folk Artist Directory     www.arts.state.ms.us/folklife/
Mudcat Cafe     www.mudcat.org
New Georgia Encyclopedia     www.georgiaencyclopedia.org
NewFolk     www.temple.edu/isllc/newfolk/
Palmettopedia     digitaltraditions.pbwiki.com
Roots Music Listening Room     juneberry78s.com/sounds/
RootsWorld     www.rootsworld.com/rw
Sonic Memorial Project     sonicmemorial.org/public/index.html
Southern Spaces     www.southernspaces.org
Story Corps     www.storycorps.net/
The Craft Revival Project     craftrevival.wcu.edu
The Darwin Awards     www.darwinawards.com/
The Folk File: Folk Music Dictionary     www.folklib.net/folkfile
The Hornpipe     www.hornpipe.com/hp/index.htm
The Traditional Ballad Index     www.csufresno.edu/folklore/BalladSearch.html
Urban Legends     urbanlegends.about.com/
Urban Legends & Netlore     www.snopes2.com
Urban Legends on Answers.com     myths.answers.com/urban-legends/

Technology Resources

Association of Moving Image Archivists     www.amianet.org/
Electronic Media Group     aic.stanford.edu/sg/emg/
Experimental Television Center     www.experimentaltvcenter.org/
Harvard University Library, Digital Initiative     hul.harvard.edu/ldi/
Independent Media Arts Preservation, Inc.     www.imappreserve.org/
Library of Congress, Digital Preservation Program     www.digitalpreservation.gov/
Minidisc Community Portal     www.minidisc.org/index.html
Northeast Document Conservation Center     www.nedcc.org/home.php
Online Computer Library Center     www.oclc.org/us/en/default.htm
Video Preservation     videopreservation.conservation-us.org/index.html

Academic Programs

Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University     cds.aas.duke.edu/
Center for Folklore Studies, Ohio State University     cfs.osu.edu/
Center for the Study of Southern Culture (Ole Miss)     www.olemiss.edu/depts/south/index.html
George Mason University     www.gmu.edu/folklore/resources/
Indiana University     www.indiana.edu/~folklore/
Memorial University of Newfoundland     www.mun.ca/folklore/
Native American Studies Program, USC Lancaster     usclancaster.sc.edu/NAS/index.html
University of California, Berkeley     folklore.berkeley.edu/
University of California, Los Angeles     www.gdnet.ucla.edu/gasaa/majors/culture.html
University of Louisiana at Lafayette     www.louisiana.edu/Academic/LiberalArts/ENGL/Folklore/index.html
University of North Carolina     www.unc.edu/depts/folklore/
University of Oregon     darkwing.uoregon.edu/~flr/
University of Pennsylvania     www.sas.upenn.edu/folklore/
University of Texas at Austin     www.utexas.edu/cola/centers/culturalstudies/
University of Wisconsin     folklore.wisc.edu/
Western Kentucky University     www.wku.edu/fsa/

South Carolina Food & Music

Abbott Farms     www.abbottfarmsonline.com/
Adluh Flour     www.adluh.com
Anson Mills     www.ansonmills.com/
Bill's Music Shop & Pickin' Parlor     www.billsmusicshop.com/
Blenheim Ginger Ale     www.blenheimgingerale.com
Bobby's Bar-B-Q Buffet     www.bobbysbbq.com/bbq2.html
Bucky's Bar-B-Q     www.buckysbbq.com/
Callaham Orchards     www.carolinapeaches.com
Carolina Barbecue     mycarolinabbq.com/
Carolina Downhome Blues Festival     camden.bluesbash.com/
Carolina Gold Rice Foundation     www.carolinagoldricefoundation.org/
Carolina Plantation Rice     www.carolinaplantationrice.com
Caw Caw Creek Pastured Pork     cawcawcreek.com/
Chappell Farms     chappellfarms.com/
Columbia Traditional Music and Dance     www.contracola.org/
Daddy Joe's BBQ     daddyjoesbbq.com/
Dixie Bell Peaches     www.dixiebellepeaches.com
Fiery Ron's Home Team BBQ     www.hometeambbq.com
Golden Kernel Pecan Company     www.goldenkernel.com
Grady Mandolins     www.gradymandolins.com
Grits & Groceries     www.gritsandgroceries.com
Hairy Toe Productions     www.hairytoeproductions.com/
Happy Cow Creamery     www.happycowcreamery.com/
Henry's Smokehouse     www.henryssmokehouse.com/
J.W. Yonce & Sons Peaches     www.bigsmilepeaches.com
Lee Brothers Boiled Peanuts     www.boiledpeanuts.com/
Little Pigs BBQ, Columbia     littlepigs.biz/
Lonestar BBQ & Mercantile     lonestarbbq.net/index.cfm
Mac's on Main     www.macsjazznblues.com/home.asp
Maurice's BBQ     www.mauricesbbq.com/
McCall Farms     margaretholmes.com/
McLeod Farms     www.macspride.com/
Melvin's Bar-B-Que     www.melvinsbbq.com
Oaklyn Plantation Free Range Chicken     www.freerangechicken.com/
Shealy's BBQ House     www.shealysbbq.com/
South Carolina Barbeque Association     www.scbarbeque.com/
South Carolina Department of Agriculture     www.scda.state.sc.us/index.html
South Carolina Farm Bureau     www.scfb.org/
South Carolina Fiddling Traditions     www.scfiddling.com/
Split Creek Farm     www.splitcreek.com
Sylvia's Soul Food     www.sylviassoulfood.com/index.html
The Nut House, Ridge Spring, SC     www.ridgespringnuthouse.com/index.html
Titan Peach Farms     www.titanfarms.com
Wallace's Old Fashioned Skins     www.wallacesporkskins.com/
Young Pecan Company     www.youngpecan.com

International Resources

American Friends of Russian Folklore     russianfolklorefriends.org/
Baltic Institute of Folklore     www.folklore.ee/BIF/index.php
British Columbia Folklore Society     www.folklore.bc.ca/
Folk Alliance International     www.folkalliance.org/
Folklore Fellows     www.folklorefellows.org/
International Society for Folk Narrative Research     www.ut.ee/isfnr/
Jewish Folklore in Israel     www.folklore.org.il/
Nepali Folklore Society     www.nepal.com/blog/the-nepali-folklore-society
The Folklore Society (London)     www.folklore-society.com/

 

Back